var yuipath = 'clientscript/yui';
var yuicombopath = '';
var remoteyui = false;
else // Load Rest of YUI remotely (where possible)
var yuipath = 'http://yui.yahooapis.com/2.9.0/build';
var yuicombopath = 'http://yui.yahooapis.com/combo';
var remoteyui = true;
It was not spearing and the commentators said it wasn't . It was a hit to the chest plate. There should not have been a penalty and that isn't me talking but everyone on air that I heard comment about it at all..... So, you think I am blind, then you must be deaf not to hear all of that. I agree with them after watching the hit...
Article 8(f) on spearing:
"If a player uses any part of his helmet (including the top/crown and forehead/”hairline” parts) or facemask to butt, spear, or ram an opponent violently or unnecessarily. Although such violent or unnecessary use of the helmet and facemask is impermissible against any opponent, game officials will give special attention in administering this rule to protecting those players who are in virtually defenseless postures . . ." http://nflspearhead.blogspot.com/
Perry lowered his helmet, hit Luck in the chest with the crown of his helmet (i.e. SPEARING). It's always illegal to do this, but the referees were probably also trying to make a point that this won't be allowed.
Per NFL.com's Rules Digest, these two are also listed as penalties warranting an automatic first down:
"A tackler using his helmet to butt, spear, or ram an opponent.
Any player who uses the top of his helmet unnecessarily." http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/penaltysummaries
Both of those apply to this hit as well. Broadcasters have been wrong before. Everything about this tackle is a blatant penalty. Anyone who has ever played football at any level of the game knows this is an illegal tackle, and downright dangerous for all parties involved. Nothing about it screams "fundamental tackling!" You can call me deaf, but I heard what the broadcasters said. They are simply wrong, as you are, by the letter of the NFL rule book. Not only was this not a clean hit, it's also up to the referees discretion as to what is deemed "unnecessary," so any further arguing on the point is moot. It was a penalty, it was deemed a penalty by the officials, it was called correctly as a penalty. Any way you look at it it's a penalty. Not sure how many different ways I can explain the same thing to you before you get it.