Thread: Players are publicly calling for Vogel...

Default Players are publicly calling for Vogel...

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/s...e=NBAHeadlines

INDIANAPOLIS -- Indiana Pacers players want interim coach Frank Vogel to get the full-time gig.

Now, it's up to team president Larry Bird to make a decision.

Indiana Pacers players said Thursday they want Frank Vogel to return as coach next season.
    It's been more than a month since the team's season ended and the waiting game continues.

"I'll be happy if Frank gets picked," said center Roy Hibbert before playing in a charity softball game for the Indiana Children's Wish Fund. "I've been with him since I was a rookie, so I hope he gets it. I understand that Larry's taking his time now, but I'm pulling for (Vogel)."

Bird has called Vogel the favorite from the beginning of the search, and the team has had several conversations with him. He took over for Jim O'Brien at midseason, went 20-18 to close the regular season and led the team to its first playoff berth since 2006.

"I think Frank did an excellent job, stepping in without the experience of a head coaching job," Bird said after the season ended. "The way he conducted himself, he brought positive energy to this team. We won more games than we lost. We did it with a young team, a team that's trying to grow."

Early in his tenure, Vogel claimed that Eastern Conference powers Boston, Miami and Orlando wouldn't want to play the Pacers when -- not if -- they made the playoffs. He introduced "smashmouth" basketball, an approach that focused on attacking the basket instead of O'Brien's perimeter-oriented game. He moved Tyler Hansbrough, a second-year player, and Paul George, a rookie, into the starting lineup and helped restore Hibbert's confidence.

It all helped them get into the playoffs and compete well before losing 4-1 to the top-seeded Chicago Bulls.