Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suggestions for Pacers' Fan Jam

Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

Lightbulb Suggestions for Pacers' Fan Jam

Currently, I'm an intern for the Indiana Pacers. I've been asked to explore ways to improve or generate excitement for this year's Pacers' Fan Jam that is held annually in October as a way for the fans to come in and just have a good time and get to know some of the players. I've never been to the event myself, but if anyone has any suggestions or things that they would like to see done or done differently this year, I'd really like to hear your suggestions. Attendance has kind of dwindled over the years, so they are looking for ways to generate some more interest. Thanks.

-PR07

Mood

Default Re: Suggestions for Pacers' Fan Jam

My interest dropped like a rock when they stopped having a scrimmage. The excitement for me was to see the latest Pacer roster in action, five on five, to get a feel for the new guys and any possible changes in the returning players.

The rest is just fluff to me.

I will say trying to have interviews at mid-court, IMO, didn't work and just killed the energy. Having Mark Boyle interview Oscar Robertson? Great idea.

Having him do so at the Fan Jam? Bad idea. It's just not the right time/place IMO.

Having the team/fans interact on the court with games was kind of fun to watch (not so much the Simon Says, but rather when it was something where one Pacer and one fan teamed up to try to hit shots/layups/3's or whatever; something basketball related).

Mood

Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

I agree with Hicks on the scrimmage.

I do believe they should get rid of the Simon Says guy. He's been there the past two years at least and he is not that entertaining.

Fans and the players playing knockout is actually pretty entertaining.

Have the players watch and/or maybe coach a local celebrity scrimmage. Score keep, coach, spectate, etc.