Thread: I wonder if the league settled with Tarpley because....

Default I wonder if the league settled with Tarpley because....

they were not sure that they would win in court? Obviously that is why almost anyone settles, well that and they know lawyer fee's might end up costing as much anyway.

First, here is what I am talking about.

http://content.usatoday.net/dist/cus...34461114.story

But in this case I just wonder about a couple of issues.

1. Could they be afraid to test this just before they go into the next C.B.A. talks? If Tarpley would have won then the players association would have a HUGE bargaining chip to hold over the owners.

2. Does the Americans with Disabilities Act supercede a collectively bargained contract? My guess is, it must. The reason I think that is because if it didn't then this would have been an open and shut case and the courts would have either thrown it out or the league would have pressed for victory on this.

Of course I am not a lawyer so I am just speculating on both of these.

3. Did the N.B.A settle because if they lost, the financial toll could have been devistating in the current economy?

This is not a speculation but a general question, when the N.B.A. does something like this can they act with just the commisioner and his staff or do they have to get approval from any owners or committee of owers?

I don't know why this strikes me as intersting, it might be because the way the season is going, but I just thought that this might be one of those story's that you never read about but in reality might have some substance to it?

Default Re: I wonder if the league settled with Tarpley because....

Quote Originally Posted by Peck View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote