Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Can someone please explain a NFL rule to me?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Age
    28
    Posts
    5,918

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Can someone please explain a NFL rule to me?

    Ok, during one possesion of todays game McNair took the snap and he was about to get sacked. I beleive there were two Colts defenders on him.

    He brushed off the first one and before the second one could sack him he just threw the ball to the ground.

    Do any of you remember this possesion?

    My question is, why was he not called for "intentional grounding"? I looked back on the replay and thought maybe he had a receiver close to him, but he was all by himself and was clearly in the pocket.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Thanks Kesty! Pig Nash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Age
    25
    Posts
    6,478
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: Can someone please explain a NFL rule to me?

    I think they give the QB the benefit of the doubt when he's being sacked, because he could have been passing it to a receiver and the defense changed the direction of his arm or something.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can someone please explain a NFL rule to me?

    That play was more a testament to Mcnair's arm strength than anything else. He WAS in the pocket, but the defensive player altered the flight of the ball so the ball could have potentially landed close to a reciever downfield.

    That's why I like Jamarcus Russel at LSU by a mile over Brady Quinn in the NFL draft. But I guess that's another thread.
    Dallas Clark>Tony Gonzalez

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •