Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: OK you EE types...

  1. #1
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default OK you EE types...

    It just happened again (at least once a week)


    Right in the middle of everything my 'puter shuts down. No warning, just CLICK it's off. I'm into my 2nd surge protector in two weeks but IMPO that ain't the prob. This time as soon as it happened I unplugged everything and swithced them into different plugs on the strip, hit the power button and voila' up and running again. Total down time < 3 minutes.
    Ion build-up around the outlet prongs?????

    I don't think it is 'puter overheating, I have too many fans on her now! We disconnected one last fall because this clone is so loud it'd wake the dead.

    So???? 'mon now, don't let me down.
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  2. #2

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Smash it?

  3. #3
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Quote Originally Posted by btowncolt View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Smash it?
    Lemme guess...your engineering degree came from IU right?
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  4. #4
    Leisure Suit Larry
    Guest

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Quote Originally Posted by indygeezer View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    It just happened again (at least once a week)


    Right in the middle of everything my 'puter shuts down. No warning, just CLICK it's off. I'm into my 2nd surge protector in two weeks but IMPO that ain't the prob. This time as soon as it happened I unplugged everything and swithced them into different plugs on the strip, hit the power button and voila' up and running again. Total down time < 3 minutes.
    Ion build-up around the outlet prongs?????

    I don't think it is 'puter overheating, I have too many fans on her now! We disconnected one last fall because this clone is so loud it'd wake the dead.

    So???? 'mon now, don't let me down.
    I would guess its the power supply?

  5. #5
    Nerd.
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Greenwood, IN
    Age
    33
    Posts
    5,069
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Take the cover off. Run with it off for some time. If it doesn't happen again, then your computer is overheating. My 2 cents.

  6. #6
    A Magical Place Hoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Greenwood
    Posts
    4,559
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    The PC power supply or a motherboard problem. IMO, but I could be wrong.
    "Just look at the flowers ........ BANG"

  7. #7
    Member Ron who?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    479

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    get a new computer and move into a new house... only sure fire way to have it working

  8. #8

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Could be a virus. Do you have AV software running and updated? If not, google for stinger.exe and scan your box.

  9. #9
    Banned Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,408

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Scan your ram.

  10. #10
    A Magical Place Hoop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Greenwood
    Posts
    4,559
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    We really narrowed it down, didn't we. Something is wrong with your puter somewhere inside there.
    "Just look at the flowers ........ BANG"

  11. #11
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Quote Originally Posted by Fool View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Scan your ram.

    ???????????????????????

    Need more input............
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  12. #12
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Running AVG scanware plus 1 or 2 others I can't remember
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  13. #13
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Quote Originally Posted by Hoop View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    We really narrowed it down, didn't we. Something is wrong with your puter somewhere inside there.

    but the new laptop is functioning just fine.


    hey there is anothe stoooopied question. If I put a router on my PCset up so I can use the laptop at home...can it be infested by virus from the PC (OK, I'm reaaaally stoopid..I get it)
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  14. #14
    Fear my small avatar Gyron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    6,366

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Not likely Geez. Unless you're sharing files ebtween the computers, or the computers are networked together.

  15. #15
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Well it happened again this AM...right inn the middle of hooking up my Netgear Router ......all printers etc remain powered up the PC jst shuts down. Again I switched poition of outletss and it came back on. 20 minutes later it happened again (1st time it has ever done it 2x in one day. This second time it hasn't come one (I'm at the office now with my laptop).

    GUess I'll email Able.


    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  16. #16
    Go Colts! Shade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Age
    36
    Posts
    44,669

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    I agree that it could either be a faulty power supply or a virus. Those seem like the most common problems.

    It could also be a faulty or damaged power cable. If you have any spare ones lying around, try switching it out.

    At least it seems to be a consistent problem. That should make it easier to narrow things down.

  17. #17
    Fear my small avatar Gyron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    6,366

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    If it happened while you were moving things around hooking up a router, I would guess it is a faulty power cable.

    Otherwise I'd say its pointing to a faulty power source. Definitely the cheaper of the fixes, and you can always return it if its not the source of the problem.

    If its not your power source, could be the motherboard overheating, then your in for some problems....

  18. #18
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Quote Originally Posted by Gyron View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    If it happened while you were moving things around hooking up a router, I would guess it is a faulty power cable.

    Otherwise I'd say its pointing to a faulty power source. Definitely the cheaper of the fixes, and you can always return it if its not the source of the problem.

    If its not your power source, could be the motherboard overheating, then your in for some problems....

    Possible overheating. We had ONE of th 5 fans disconnected last spring...dern thing was so loud we couldn't hear someone in the next room. Yes, it had this prob (rarely) before we disconnected the fan.
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  19. #19
    Fear my small avatar Gyron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    6,366

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Hook that fan back up and see if the problems reoccur.

    That would be my first suggestion.

  20. #20
    Fear my small avatar Gyron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    6,366

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    But I would also suggest maybe replacing that fan. It shouldn't be that loud.

  21. #21
    Fear my small avatar Gyron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    6,366

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Of course if heating is a real problem, with all those high stakes real estate fees you are raking in from multithousand dollar estates in Spencer, you could always retro fit it with a liquid cooling system. Very cool.....(Not practical, but when a guy has $1 bills to flash around like you.....Might as well spend them!)

  22. #22

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Smash it.

  23. #23
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Ya know, I wonder if Jr or the Mrs ever thought to use those 1 gig flash drives I bought them to back up their systems..........HA, I can answer that one with one arm tied behind my back and blindfolded!!!
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  24. #24
    Tree People to the Core! indygeezer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Cumberland
    Posts
    15,332
    Mood

    Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo Sports Logo

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Quote Originally Posted by Gyron View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Of course if heating is a real problem, with all those high stakes real estate fees you are raking in from multithousand dollar estates in Spencer, you could always retro fit it with a liquid cooling system. Very cool.....(Not practical, but when a guy has $1 bills to flash around like you.....Might as well spend them!)



    If I ever get paid.
    If you get to thinkin’ you’re a person of some influence, try orderin’ somebody else’s dog around..

  25. #25
    Banned Fool's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    2,408

    Default Re: OK you EE types...

    Quote Originally Posted by indygeezer View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    ???????????????????????

    Need more input............
    http://www.memtest86.com/

    Run that. If you've got a bad address in one of your RAM sticks then the OS can hyperventilate when it doesn't find some random "essential" code that it sent to your memory and it will just reboot instead of asking for help or telling you somethings wrong. If your shutdowns seem to happen at random times for no reason whatsoever, there's a chance its bad ram. This test takes a bit of time but its thorough and you can definately rule your ram out if it doesn't find anything.

    Quote Originally Posted by Directions for running Memtest86
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Once you've downloaded Memtest86, the installation couldn't be easier. If you downloaded a version other than the ISO images, simply extract the files from the zip archive, open the directory where the files were extracted, and run the install program. You will be prompted to enter the floppy drive letter and also insert a blank floppy disk. Once you've done so, press [Enter] and the install program will create the Memtest86 bootable floppy. Memtest86 will run automatically when this disk is used to boot a PC. To create a bootable CD, just use your favorite burning software and one of the ISO images.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •