View Poll Results: Should I quit my job?

Voters
16. You may not vote on this poll
  • Stay

7 43.75%
  • Go

9 56.25%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I quit my job?

Default Should I quit my job?

Quitting seems to be en vogue these days, so I thought I'd get everyone's opinion on my situation.

I've been working as a secretarial temp here since November 2, 2005. I wasn't too fond of the job and I was happy to leave for a permanent position with the same university late February. From November to February they dragged their feet hiring someone for the permanent position, but they seemed to have someone just before I left. Unfortunately, the person they hired ended up taking a job elsewhere at the last minute and they ended up having to get a different temp to cover the position.

Well, I hated the new job I took. So much so that I sucked up my pride and asked to come back to this job as a temp. Because my professors liked me and, I guess, they weren't enamored with the new temp, they took me back within a week or two of my departure. At that time, I told my supervisor that I wanted the permanent position. She contacted Human Resources and they told her that, because I left my other job, it was unethical for them to hire me within the 90 day provisional period I was supposed to have worked at the other job. It would be like transferring departments during the provisional period, which is a no-no. So I stayed on as a temp for three months.