Thread: Denver & the Expansion Draft

Default Denver & the Expansion Draft

Since I started playing fantasy basketball four years ago I have enjoyed watching other teams play. One of those teams is the Denver Nuggets. With the other teams I kind of just laid things out & let the analysis unfold. With the Nuggets I think I already know what player the Bobcats will take. Lets see if it plays out the way I think.

As always, I am using info from three main sources for this series.

From NBA.com, a story on the Bobcats draft.
    http://www.nba.com/bobcats/news/expansion_draft.html

This paragraph has the basic info.

Charlotte will receive lists from each of the 27 teams not competing in the NBA Finals 10 days prior to the scheduled Expansion Draft (June 12) and those from the competing teams in the Finals within two days of the conclusion of the Finals. Team lists will designate a maximum of eight protected players for that teamís players under contract or restricted free agents for the 2004-05 NBA season. The unprotected players are eligible for selection by the Bobcats, who will draft a minimum of 14 players from NBA rosters.

Free agent info from REAL GM.
    http://www.realgm.com/src_freeagents.php?year=2004

Salary info from Hoops Hype.
    http://www.hoopshype.com/salaries/denver.htm

Here is the current Denver roster.

Marcus Camby
    Andre Miller
    Carmelo Anthony
    Jon Barry
    Voshon Lenard
    Nikoloz Tskitishvili
    Earl Boykins
    NenÍ
    Rodney White
    Ryan Bowen
    Mark Pope
    Chris Andersen
    Jeff Trepagnier
    Michael Doleac
    Francisco Elson

Of the 15 players on the Nuggets roster, REAL GM list 6 as being free agents, none of them are restricted.

That would leave 9 players with contracts for next season. Of those, only Marcus Camby has a player option. I have heard he is thinking about opting out but as of now I will consider him as being under contract for next season. Simply because he is, until he exercises the opt out clause.