Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A question....

Default A question....

Ok, just go ahead & laugh at me now but here comes the Dale Davis question I have been dying to ask since about 1999. But I have had to update it because of recent events.

I wanted to know back then if there was even a remote posibility that Dale could have his # retired.

When he was traded I gave up all hope for that.

But now I have to wonder, if we do anything this season in the playoffs & I mean just about anything & Dale is a large part of this (games like last night) & if next season we do go at least back to the finals, is there any way that you guys think Dale should have the # 32 retired?

I'm without a doubt biased, so I want some honest thoughts on this.

He's the teams all-time leading rebounder (NBA) & even though I thought that J.O. would blow him away with this part if he stays a few more years he may put it out of reach for J.O.

He's one of the all-time leading shot blockers for the team.

He is, IMO, one of the pillars of those 90's teams & IMO again, the main catalyst right now as to how we are staying competative.

He has never had an offensive game so do you think the franchise would honor a player like that?

I'll sit back and read the responses for awhile.

Basketball isn't played with computers, spreadsheets, and simulations. ChicagoJ 4/21/13

Default Re: A question....

I think it will hinge on if he re-signs with the Pacers. How much will it take to lock him up for 3 or 4 years. I think he looks like the same Dale we traded for O'Neal way back when. He just turned 36 yesterday, obviously stays in great shape. You know he's got to have some girlfriends in Indy and likes it here. I would retire his number if he finishes his career here for sure, and if he punishes Wallace like he did last night the next couple years that would be enough for me.