View Full Version : Peyton MVP!!

01-10-2005, 12:09 PM
Press conference at 1:00. :) :)

Diamond Dave
01-10-2005, 01:13 PM

01-10-2005, 05:58 PM
I can't believe there isn't more response to this thread.

Go Peyton! :dance:

01-10-2005, 06:00 PM

Monday, January 10
By John Oehser - Colts.com

Manning Becomes Seventh Two-Time NFL Most Valuable Player
INDIANAPOLIS — Throughout the regular season, Colts quarterback Peyton Manning played his position on a historical level.

On Monday, he made history again.

Manning, who this season set NFL records for single-season touchdown passes and passer rating, on Monday was named the NFL’s Most Valuable Player by the Associated Press, becoming the third player to win the award in consecutive seasons.

Manning, who last week was named the NFL’s Offensive Player of the Year, shared the MVP award last year with Tennessee Titans quarterbackSteve McNair.

This year, there was no sharing.

Manning, who was recently named the starting quarterback for the AFC in the Pro Bowl, received 47 of a possible 48 votes. Atlanta Falcons quarterback Michael Vick received the other vote.

Manning, in his seventh NFL season, completed 336 of 497 passes for a career-high 4,557 yards and 49 touchdowns with 10 interceptions for a passer rating of 121.1.

The 49 touchdowns broke the previous record of 48, set by Miami Dolphins quarterback Dan Marino in 1984. The passer rating broke the record of 112.8, set by San Francisco 49ers quarterback Steve Young in 1994.

The MVP award is for the regular-season only, and the voting took place before the Colts’ 49-24 victory over the Denver Broncos in the first round of the AFC playoffs Sunday. Manning completed 27 of 33 passes for a franchise playoff-record 457 yards and four touchdowns with one interception for a passer rating of 145.7.

Manning became the seventh player to win the award in multiple seasons, with Green Bay Packers quarterback Brett Favre (1995-1997) and former San Francisco 49ers quarterback Joe Montana (1989-90) the others.

Favre is the only three-time recipient of the honor.

Along with Manning, Favre and Montana, other multiple winners were former Colts quarterback John Unitas (1964, 1967), former San Francisco 49ers quarterback Steve Young (1992, 1994), former St. Louis Rams quarterback Kurt Warner (1999, 2001) and former Cleveland Browns running back Jim Brown (1957, 1965).

Former Denver Broncos quarterback John Elway, Marino, former Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Terry Bradshaw, and former Minnesota Vikings quarterback Fran Tarkenton are among quarterbacks who won the award once.

Two other Colts quarterbacks — Earl Morrall in 1968 and Bert Jones in 1976 — also have received the award.

01-10-2005, 06:22 PM
Congratulations Peyton! Not only is Peyton the best quarterback in the league, he's a great person too.

...I can't believe someone voted for Michael Vick. Idiot.

Pig Nash
01-10-2005, 06:25 PM
WOOO! :mango: :cucumber: :rock: :apple: :happydanc :yes: :dancingba :woohoo: :2tup: :bananadan :orange: :king: :pineapple :carrot: :thumbup: :rockon: :applaud: :dance: :happydanc

Peyton is a :pimp:

sorry bout the smilies :montieth:

Lord Helmet
01-10-2005, 06:39 PM
Go Peyton!!!Go Colts!!!

01-10-2005, 07:13 PM
Way to go! Had there been a co-winner this year I'm sure even the President would be asking for a recount! ;)


01-10-2005, 07:14 PM
He should have won it out right last year! This will be the first of many MVP's honors I have the feeling.

Way to Go Peyton!


01-10-2005, 07:50 PM
WOOO! :mango: :cucumber: :rock: :apple: :happydanc :yes: :dancingba :woohoo: :2tup: :bananadan :orange: :king: :pineapple :carrot: :thumbup: :rockon: :applaud: :dance: :happydanc

Peyton is a :pimp:

sorry bout the smilies :montieth: I just had to quote the smilies. Hehehehe. :laugh:

01-10-2005, 08:12 PM
Vick? Vick? Comeone. Must have been someone who wanted to KHA.

01-10-2005, 08:32 PM
GO PEYTON AND THE COLTS! :dance: :dance: :dance: :dance: :dance2: :dance2: :dance2: :champions :goponies: :colts: :highfive: :jump: :nunchuck: :cucumber: :woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo:

01-10-2005, 08:51 PM
so Favre is the only one to win it 3 times. Hmmm - maybe another record coming Peyton's way before he retired.