PDA

View Full Version : My East predictions and probably a minority view: The Pacers will miss the playoffs this season

DonSwanson
12-20-2011, 12:06 PM
This is my first time starting a thread on Pacers Digest. And I’m guessing the vast majority of you will disagree with my prediction: :D

I predict the Pacers will finish 9th in the East, in the 29-32 win range.
I think we are probably at least another year away from witnessing a true "breakout" season (top 5 in the Conference).

(dodges tomatoes thrown on-stage)

A couple of things before I get more into it. First, this is my HONEST take on where I think we stand in the East. It’s not pessimism, and it’s not meant to rub people the wrong way who complain about “Debbie downers.” The aim here is not to upset the Era of Good Feelings, but at the very least to encourage people to not take lightly or dismiss our competition. For example, I have read some forecasts by fans that don’t even mention the Bucks and I don’t agree with that at all. So I’ve offered a few brief write-ups on some of these other teams also in the running for a playoff spot (Philly, Milwaukee, Detroit, New Jersey) to remind people that they won’t be pushovers. Also understand—I hope most of you are right that this team is poised for a breakout year!! I want that to be true—I’m just not there yet, having a hard time seeing it. So if you are so inclined, help the doubters like myself to see it. Tell me what you think I am missing.