PDA

View Full Version : NBA: Kendrick Perkins goaltended



vapacersfan
04-18-2011, 04:57 PM
Interesting rule. So you can touch the net as long as you do not touch the ball. Seems weird to me, touching the net could impact the shot, no?

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/playoffs/2011/news/story?id=6384356



The NBA has agreed with George Karl's assertion that a tip-in late in the Oklahoma City Thunder (http://espn.go.com/nba/team/_/name/okc/oklahoma-city-thunder)'s 107-103 win -- a basket the Denver Nuggets (http://espn.go.com/nba/team/_/name/den/denver-nuggets) coach said soured his players' momentum in the game's final minute -- was goaltending.

The league issued a statement Monday afternoon, saying Kendrick Perkins (http://espn.go.com/nba/player/_/id/2018/kendrick-perkins) was "improperly credited with a basket that should have been ruled offensive basket interference."

With 1:05 to play, Russell Westbrook (http://espn.go.com/nba/player/_/id/3468/russell-westbrook) launched a jumper from the right side that caromed off the rim, and Perkins put-back followed, putting the Thunder up 102-101, a lead they wouldn't relinquish Sunday night as they took a 1-0 lead in the first-round playoff series.

"Although a player is permitted to touch the net while the ball is in the cylinder above the rim, Perkins also touched the ball while it was still in the cylinder which is a violation and constitutes goaltending," the NBA said in the statement.

Several Nuggets looked for it to be waved off as basket interference, and Karl was adamant after the game, insisting, "Obviously it was goaltending."

King Tuts Tomb
04-18-2011, 05:10 PM
The rim is at 10 ft and the net hangs another foot under that so it'd be tough for a bunch of 7 footers to not get their hands caught up in the net.

vapacersfan
04-18-2011, 05:12 PM
The rim is at 10 ft and the net hangs another foot under that so it'd be tough for a bunch of 7 footers to not get their hands caught up in the net.

I understand that.

My question is more alone the lines of your hand touching the net while the ball is on top of that. Couldnt you inadvertently change the projection of the ball?

EDIT: nevermind, I was misreading what was said.

Kuq_e_Zi91
04-18-2011, 05:12 PM
From the NBA Rule Book:
http://i.cdn.turner.com/nba/nba/.element/pdf/2.0/sect/officiating/Official_NBA_Rule_Rook_2010-11.pdf

Rule #11 Basketball Interference - Goaltending
Section I - A player shall not:


h. Vibrate the rim, net or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce, or bend or move the rim to an off-center position when the ball is touching the ring or passing through.
i. Touch the rim, net or ball while the ball is in the net, preventing it from clearing the basket.

Slick Pinkham
04-18-2011, 06:18 PM
are they unfixing the fix?

;)

or are they admitting to human error?

Seriously, though, it is nice when they openly come out and admit to a bad call.

vapacersfan
04-18-2011, 09:56 PM
are they unfixing the fix?

;)

or are they admitting to human error?

Seriously, though, it is nice when they openly come out and admit to a bad call.

FWIW, I know you are joking, but I never claimed there was a "fix"

I agree, though, it is nice to see them admit to a blown call.

Bottom line is it was missed but the call did not decide the game any more then Kenyon Martins horrible jumper on the next series did.

Unclebuck
04-18-2011, 11:13 PM
what? I thought the NBA never admitted when the refs make mistakes

vapacersfan
04-19-2011, 12:30 AM
what? I thought the NBA never admitted when the refs make mistakes

One time out of a whole season and you are bragging about it, really?!?

Eleazar
04-19-2011, 01:06 AM
Interesting rule. So you can touch the net as long as you do not touch the ball. Seems weird to me, touching the net could impact the shot, no?

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/playoffs/2011/news/story?id=6384356

It could, but only if you intentionally do it. Otherwise the only way it would happen is if you actually touched the ball as it goes in.

Unclebuck
04-19-2011, 08:27 AM
One time out of a whole season and you are bragging about it, really?!?


There were probably a half dozen times this year (or more) where they did. And they have been doing it in the playoffs for the past few seasons. I feel some of you are a few seasons behind what is going on now

vapacersfan
04-19-2011, 11:25 AM
There were probably a half dozen times this year (or more) where they did. And they have been doing it in the playoffs for the past few seasons. I feel some of you are a few seasons behind what is going on now

Are you telling me there have only been half a dozen missed calls that the NBA could admit to this season?

I am well aware the NBA has done this in the past, I just said I wish they did it more often.

As for me being a few season behind, I have openly admitted I have not followed the NBA as closely since Reggie retired.