PDA

View Full Version : Help me test a new feature: Live Topic



Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:19 AM
If this works right, we have a new feature that should come in handy during live events in the NBA (or NFL over on the Colts board :) ).

If a thread has been used in the last five minutes (I may tweak this time limit later), it is a "live topic."

What this means is, if I'm understanding correctly, while the topic is live, you should be able to see new posts "magically" appear right in front of you without needing to refresh the page!

I imagine, if this works, that it should be handy for when folks are talking about a hot topic or commenting on a live game or whatever.

Up to 30 new posts should be visible on one single page without needing to refresh. That number is also subject to change. I may bump it up to 50.

Let's see how this works!

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:20 AM
Testing

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:21 AM
what?

tadscout
06-28-2010, 12:22 AM
Sounds cool! :cool:

BRushWithDeath
06-28-2010, 12:25 AM
Sounds like a cool idea.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:25 AM
posting this one on IE...

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:25 AM
testing this one on chrome....

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:26 AM
Didn't work for me. I sat on my own post for 4 minutes and had to refresh to see the next two.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:26 AM
Hmm. Well, it's not automatically showing new posts like I thought it would, but when I post a quick reply, it not only shows my quick reply, but anything posted between when I opened the page and made the quick reply....

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:28 AM
Yeah....I see the post right away....no thanks and you'll be taken to your post message.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:30 AM
I just saw an example video of what this is supposed to do, and while I'm still not 100% sure, it DOES seem like you should see new posts just "pop in" without having to make a post yourself or click refresh....

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:32 AM
your clown scares me.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:34 AM
I wish I knew why this isn't working!

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:38 AM
I've got an idea. Stand by....

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:40 AM
Okay. Let's try now.....

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:40 AM
If you haven't, hold shift and click refresh. I've made some changes that might not show up until you do. Then post something.

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:41 AM
post

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:42 AM
waiting

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:43 AM
Something's still wrong.

pwee31
06-28-2010, 12:44 AM
I want to play

pwee31
06-28-2010, 12:44 AM
my post didn't even show?

SycamoreKen
06-28-2010, 12:44 AM
Does this thing work?

rel
06-28-2010, 12:45 AM
boomshockalocka

pwee31
06-28-2010, 12:45 AM
hmm?

tadscout
06-28-2010, 12:45 AM
:kickcan: :-p

pwee31
06-28-2010, 12:45 AM
still don't see it? Testing 1...2...3

Sorry couldn't resist

rel
06-28-2010, 12:45 AM
this thing woulda been beastly during the draft

SycamoreKen
06-28-2010, 12:46 AM
Got a message that said the max amount of posts were reached and the oldest would disappear, but that is gone now.

pwee31
06-28-2010, 12:46 AM
I see something popping up in the lower right corner off and on, but can't make it out. I'm using Firefox by the way

odeez
06-28-2010, 12:46 AM
Keep trying, sounds like a great feature!

pacers74
06-28-2010, 12:47 AM
It's not working here. I still have to refresh to see it.

SycamoreKen
06-28-2010, 12:47 AM
I'm in chrome.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:48 AM
Shift + Refresh and try again...

tadscout
06-28-2010, 12:48 AM
It's not working here. I still have to refresh to see it.

me too... I'm also in Chrome.

odeez
06-28-2010, 12:50 AM
I am on an iPhone, does it work with mobile devices?

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:50 AM
does it work for anyone?

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:52 AM
Long shot, but try again...

kester99
06-28-2010, 12:53 AM
my turn....your turn

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:54 AM
Hmm. Still nothing. Not sure where the fault is just yet.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:58 AM
anyone still replying?

Bball
06-28-2010, 12:59 AM
Storm knocked my power out...
I'm late to the party...

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 12:59 AM
Hello

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 12:59 AM
I'm not sure I can even post?

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 01:00 AM
Ok when I reply, my posts don't come up in my browser, but bball's did for me...

Hicks
06-28-2010, 01:00 AM
Okay, i've tried something else, let's try again

crunk-juice
06-28-2010, 01:00 AM
test

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:01 AM
hmmmm

The maximum amount of posts on this page can display has been reached. Posts will now start to disappear from oldest to newest.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 01:01 AM
hmmmm

Did you do anything to cause the message to appear? Were you making a reply?

Where exactly is the message displayed on your screen?

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:03 AM
who wants to fix my driveway if this rain washed it out again?

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:03 AM
Did you do anything to cause the message to appear? Were you making a reply?

Where exactly is the message displayed on your screen?

I don't remember...

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:04 AM
Did you do anything to cause the message to appear? Were you making a reply?

I don't remember this part.


Where exactly is the message displayed on your screen?

The message was in a rectangle at the top of the page... a big box... not like the little thing popping up in the right corner

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:07 AM
I don't see any new posts after my post #51...

tadscout
06-28-2010, 01:09 AM
I just saw a tiny window in the bottom right corner say something...

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:11 AM
I just saw a tiny window in the bottom right corner say something...

I tried to copy it but it wouldn't let me... It mentions "user" and "prohibited"

Not sure what else...

Hicks
06-28-2010, 01:11 AM
testing

kester99
06-28-2010, 01:13 AM
moo

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 01:13 AM
I'm in firefox btw.

tadscout
06-28-2010, 01:13 AM
:kickcan:

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:13 AM
The only thing I am seeing happen different than normal is when I post something (or reply) once I submit it and see my post I can also see other new posts... even falling AFTER mine.

I'm not seeing any posts 'pop' up though.

Sea Monkey is what I'm using...

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 01:14 AM
Ok i just got the max amount of posts on this page message and there were only like 6 posts showing lol.

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:14 AM
...and sometimes I don't see my own posts...

Merz
06-28-2010, 01:14 AM
..........

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:16 AM
I do see my posts (and any new posts) after a reload though.

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:17 AM
That time I saw my post (#63) without a reload...

Merz
06-28-2010, 01:17 AM
it's like the Monkees, they were a major influence on the Beatles.

tadscout
06-28-2010, 01:17 AM
...and sometimes I don't see my own posts...

Same here.

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:17 AM
heh... and the post I just posted saying I saw post #63 without a reload... I don't see that one!

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:18 AM
Post #63 is the last thing showing for me right now. I haven't reloaded since prior to post #63

Not sure if this means anything to you for testing/troubleshooting or not...

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:20 AM
After reloading I am seeing posts up to #68

Merz
06-28-2010, 01:20 AM
He hates these cans. Stay away from the cans!

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:21 AM
after submitting my last post telling you what I saw (up to post #68)... I didn't see that post (still don't) but after submitting that post I do see Merz with post #69

Psyren
06-28-2010, 01:21 AM
Testing....testing....testing

Merz
06-28-2010, 01:21 AM
It doesn't seem to be doing that "auto show-up" thing for me

Psyren
06-28-2010, 01:23 AM
It doesn't seem to be doing that "auto show-up" thing for me
Same for me, I don't know if it's firefox or something else.

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:23 AM
a reload shows me posts up to #73 now... nothing popping up... Posts or messages at the top or right corner...

Merz
06-28-2010, 01:25 AM
A toll is a toll, and a roll is a roll. And if we don't get no tolls, then we don't eat no rolls.

tadscout
06-28-2010, 01:25 AM
Same for me, I don't know if it's firefox or something else.

I'm in Chrome and it's not working right for me either.

Will be cool when we get the kinks worked out :cool:

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:26 AM
I switched to Internet Explorer... I do see IE telling me "Error on page" at the lower left. This appears to be an IE generated message (with an "!" by it)

Merz
06-28-2010, 01:28 AM
I seem to be getting the same results with both Firefox and Opera.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 01:29 AM
Alright, I'll need to put this to bed for tonight.

I know that in IE I can see the error is character 1840 in the .js file associated with this mod.

Does anyone know how I can look and see just what that character actually is? I don't know how to jump directly to whatever the 1840th character in the file is.

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:30 AM
Accidentally left the thread in IE... When I returned the little IE error message is gone...

Post 78 is the last thing showing....

and in the middle of typing this message the screen flashed as if it was doing something (it didn't other than interrupt my typing).... I've seen the flash/flicker several times (as I'm typing a reply)... Just now mentioning it.

It happened again.

and the little IE error just popped up again a few moments after the first flicker... and stayed there...

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:32 AM
Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.1; Trident/4.0; Avant Browser; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.04506.30; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729)
Timestamp: Mon, 28 Jun 2010 05:31:34 UTC


Message: Object required
Line: 2
Char: 1840
Code: 0
URI: http://www.pacersdigest.com/clientscript/livetopic.js


Snipped this since it's 'just the same thing over and over

Bball
06-28-2010, 01:32 AM
Alright, I'll need to put this to bed for tonight.

I know that in IE I can see the error is character 1840 in the .js file associated with this mod.

Does anyone know how I can look and see just what that character actually is? I don't know how to jump directly to whatever the 1840th character in the file is.

Looks like you already saw what I saw....

able
06-28-2010, 07:08 AM
Without looking at anything at all, i am assuming there is a setting that will decide how many posts in what timeframe have to be posted for it to be become a "live-post" and that not setting that param is what is causing the errors as (again assumption) the sw wont allow for 1 new post to make a thread "live"

In case of the latter you would have a lot of live threads on a smoldering afternoon, where ppl randomly post stuff

if you want, holler and I'll take a looksee

iHicks
06-28-2010, 12:05 PM
Test

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:06 PM
test2

iHicks
06-28-2010, 12:06 PM
test3

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:07 PM
test4

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 12:07 PM
Hey-oh

Day-V
06-28-2010, 12:08 PM
On Chrome....testing...

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:14 PM
test

iHicks
06-28-2010, 12:14 PM
test2

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 12:15 PM
Still not working for me, I'm on firefox.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 12:15 PM
Nevermind.

Bball
06-28-2010, 12:19 PM
Neverminding....

binarysolo
06-28-2010, 04:26 PM
FYI character 1840 appears to be the semicolon in the middle of this statement:

PostBit_Init(k,d);fetch_object('post'+d).style.

Hicks
06-28-2010, 04:28 PM
How did you find that out?

Bball
06-28-2010, 04:32 PM
If this never works can we rename this thread "Dead Topic"?

:rimshot:

binarysolo
06-28-2010, 04:33 PM
well, I just saw this discussion -- I wasnt involved in any of the testing but I saw BBall's note:

Message: Object required
Line: 2
Char: 1840
Code: 0
URI: http://www.pacersdigest.com/clientscript/livetopic.js

So I clicked the thing and went to line 2 (assuming line 1 is the short commented bit) and copied it into microsoft word

then used word count to provide a character count and kept deleting chunks of the end until the character count was 1840.

Trader Joe
06-28-2010, 04:33 PM
Or binarysolo is actually a super computer who has come to life.

duke dynamite
06-28-2010, 04:36 PM
Or binarysolo is actually a super computer who has come to life.
http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/34s/25916581.jpg

binarysolo
06-28-2010, 04:38 PM
http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/34s/25916581.jpg

I'm sorry, Duke. I'm afraid I can't do that.