PDA

View Full Version : OT - Computer weirdness

Anthem
07-03-2004, 12:57 PM
So I'm really psyched.... I just bought a barebones SN41G2 Shuttle XPC.

http://www.gamepc.com/images/labs/rev-sn41g2-frontpageSMb.jpg

That's almost actual size.

The problem is, freaking windows xp is giving me fits. I put in my hard drive (used yesterday in a previous PC) that was set to dual-boot between Windows XP and Suse 9.1 Pro. Windows gave me a "Does not recognize filessytem," while Suse chewed on it a while and finally booted up.

I thought, "Obviously, too many things have changed... CPU, RAM, chipset, video. Time for a fresh install." I boot from the Windows CD, wipe the HD, create a partition, copy the files, and then it reboots. Once that happens, though, it just says "Error loading operating system."

Anybody have a clue?

skyfire
07-03-2004, 01:08 PM
I've had some experiences when installing WinXP where it seems to die halfway through installation and then gives that error message. If you re-install it again, hopefully it will work the 2nd time. A very annoying side effect is that the failed installation leave an errant record in the boot loader so, it asks me which version of WinXP i'd like to boot every time i turn my pc on.

Anthem
07-03-2004, 01:33 PM
Yeah, I killed the boot loader with fidisk /MBR and now I'm reformatting the HD with a low-level format. We'll see what happens.

I'm REALLY excited about this PC (I'm such a geek). I'm using a floppy, HD, and CD-RW that I already owned, but I bought the rest of the package for $400. You can't beat that for a brand-new PC.

Athlon XP 2400+, nForce 2 (gForce 4 chipset) audio and video. This shuttle supports two displays at once, plus a TV-Out. And it's TINY!

So cool.

able
07-03-2004, 01:41 PM