PDA

View Full Version : Back Court

BillS
03-19-2009, 08:23 AM
As much as I appreciate the energy and willingness to get into the paint that TJ has, I have to admit that he is frustrating me more than he is making me happy. I do not at all like having a PG who essentially makes a decision at the time line and is incapable of changing his action based on the defense. TJ has been an upgrade from what we had last year, but his flaws lead to too many turnovers and missed offensive opportunities.

So, I thought I'd start this thread to talk about potential back court changes for next season. I know that the front court is the priority for most people, and that cap and tax considerations will enter in to decisions on what players to keep and what players to lose. However, since I am not good at watching other teams (except when they play the Pacers) or under-the-radar European or College players, I'm looking for some thoughts on what kind of back court mix is available to us.

Personally, I would not be unhappy if somehow we could put TJ in a trade to help us get some aggressive front court help, going with Jack and (God help me) Diener at the point. I'd love to keep Marquis - though I don't think he is a great point, he is an excellent 2 especially on defense - but I suspect money issues will prevent that.

Is there another point out there who would be about the same level as TJ but without the decision issues? Is there another point out there at about Jack's level that could take the second string spot and leave us Diener for spot minutes and third string?

Jonathan
03-19-2009, 08:49 AM
I like the idea of trading our first round pick and Tinsley to the Timberwolves for Brian Cardinal and their late first round pick and an early second round pick.

idioteque
03-19-2009, 08:51 AM