PDA

View Full Version : Ok, I've been banging my head against the tv

Peck
01-13-2009, 03:08 AM
for the past few hours trying to figure out what in the name of God is wrong with our defense.

I have been reading over and over and hearing everyone from O'Brien to the players say over and over how we have to play better more consistant defense.

So for the past three games I have honestly tried to go over every play on the defensive end to see what happens, who it happens to and why it happens.

I still have no answers.

I admit that I am no expert or even pretend expert on this. I love good hard nosed defense but I am very very much used to the solid one on one defense as taught by Larry Brown.

I have noticed some things that I think are troubling however every time I go "aha" I then see that same thing being done by a differant player later in the game. So that makes me wonder if it is a breakdown by the players or if it is the system.

I have no real answers here.

However I have a lot of questions and hopefully one of you can help me out here.

1. I have noticed lately that Jarret Jack (who previously I had always considered a good defender) does not keep his man in front of him. My first reaction to this was, well shock but then it was disgust at Jack. However after seeing Deiner & Ford do very very similar things with thier man (making them hedge towards the elbow) is this by design or a breakdown by the player?

2. Routinely I have seen all three of our frontcourt players swing to the ball side of the court. I don't care who is on whether it's Foster, Murphy or whoever. Three things have happened from this routinely.

a. we get called for a defensive violation
b. two guys double the ball and the third guy shifts fast enough back to pickup his man.
c. two guys go to the ball, the ball gets swung and the player who is now open from the three man shift shoots an open shot.

Is this by design or is this a player breakdown.