PDA

View Full Version : Just installed Vista...



Shade
01-05-2009, 10:59 AM
And I'm actually liking it so far.

However, it seems to have wiped out my audio driver or something, because I no longer get any sound. The manual external volume control on my laptop is broken too, so that doesn't help.

Does anyone have any ideas on what I need to do to fix this?

Hicks
01-05-2009, 11:01 AM
I think my audio went out when I switched to Vista, too. The only thing I know to do is go to the website of the audiocard (or motherboard if it's built-in) and look for drivers to solve the problem.

D23
01-05-2009, 11:08 AM
Yes, usually that's a driver problem. It might be available from the laptop/soundcard manufacturer's website as Hicks said. If you're unlucky, they may not have one for Vista though. Also, the manual volume controls on the laptop are usually controlled by a different driver. It's usually labeled something recognizable like "front panel driver" or possibly the chipset driver.

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 11:19 AM
Vista is great. (If you have the hardware to run it.)

I've been using Vista as my primary OS since November of 2006 when it was released to businesses.

Make sure that all your drivers are up-to-date for your Vista experience to be the best it can!

Major Cold
01-05-2009, 11:44 AM
Vista is great. (If you have the hardware to run it.)

I've been using Vista as my primary OS since November of 2006 when it was released to businesses.

Make sure that all your drivers are up-to-date for your Vista experience to be the best it can!
:laugh:

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 11:45 AM
:laugh:
...right.

N8R
01-05-2009, 11:47 AM
Easy solution... Get a Mac

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 11:55 AM
Easy solution... Get a Mac
&(*%^#_@!!!

Shade
01-05-2009, 11:56 AM
I used a Mac a lot this semester. Don't like it.

DisplacedKnick
01-05-2009, 12:01 PM
I bought a new laptop in April and it came with Vista - thought about replacing that with XP but after my self-imposed mandatory waiting period of a few weeks to decide if I just hated it because it was new I kept it. There are a couple of things I don't care for, mostly related to secure networking when I'm on the road but beyond that it's been fine once I got used to it.

Shade
01-05-2009, 12:07 PM
Okay, so I have a Toshiba Tecra A8-EZ8313 which apparently has a Realtek audio driver. However, I cannot find where to update my drivers anywhere on the Toshiba site.

God, I hate Toshiba.

Major Cold
01-05-2009, 12:09 PM
Okay, so I have a Toshiba Tecra A8-EZ8313 which apparently has a Realtek audio driver. However, I cannot find where to update my drivers anywhere on the Toshiba site.

God hates Microsoft.
Fixed.

Bball
01-05-2009, 12:31 PM
Is this it?

http://drivers.softpedia.com/get/SOUND-CARD/REALTEK/Toshiba-Satellite-A135-S4827-Realtek-Audio-Driver-6-0-1-5322.shtml

Shade
01-05-2009, 12:38 PM
I finally found the driver and installed it, restarted my computer, and still have no sound. :mad:

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 12:40 PM
What is your PC or sound card manufacturer?

Shade
01-05-2009, 12:41 PM
I'm not sure. It came pre-installed.

My computer says the audio driver is working. :shrug:

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 12:43 PM
I'm not sure. It came pre-installed.

My computer says the audio driver is working. :shrug:
Give me the manufacturer of the PC.

Also, do you have Windows Live Messenger?

Bball
01-05-2009, 12:45 PM
Make sure it is not muted. Get to your audio properties to check. Make sure Volume and Wave volume are up and not muted in your mixer.

-Bball

Shade
01-05-2009, 12:46 PM
Give me the manufacturer of the PC.

Also, do you have Windows Live Messenger?

It's a Toshiba.

I don't have WLM, unless it came pre-installed with Vista. I'm slowly re-downloading all my programs.

Bball
01-05-2009, 12:47 PM
BTW... for the life of me I don't know why anyone would switch from XP to Vista. I can see sticking with Vista if that is what your computer comes with... And that said I punted Vista off my laptop and was much happier with XP Pro. The laptop was much snappier on XP Pro than the installed Vista.

Bad boy Shade! ;)

Shade
01-05-2009, 12:47 PM
Make sure it is not muted. Get to your audio properties to check. Make sure Volume and Wave volume are up and not muted in your mixer.

-Bball

It's not muted. However, like I mentioned before, the external audio control is broken, so maybe it reset to 0 after the reformatting? I don't know where to find the external audio control within the system.

Shade
01-05-2009, 12:48 PM
BTW... for the life of me I don't know why anyone would switch from XP to Vista. I can see sticking with Vista if that is what your computer comes with... And that said I punted Vista off my laptop and was much happier with XP Pro. The laptop was much snappier on XP Pro than the installed Vista.

Bad boy Shade! ;)

My XP was buggy as hell, with a load of "broken" stuff that came on it when I got the laptop.

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 12:49 PM
BTW... for the life of me I don't know why anyone would switch from XP to Vista. I can see sticking with Vista if that is what your computer comes with... And that said I punted Vista off my laptop and was much happier with XP Pro. The laptop was much snappier on XP Pro than the installed Vista.

Bad boy Shade! ;)
There really isn't anything wrong with Vista. Yeah, upgrades always have problems to start off with, but it's all okay.

Bball
01-05-2009, 01:38 PM
There really isn't anything wrong with Vista. Yeah, upgrades always have problems to start off with, but it's all okay.

It is all OK if you want your computer to run slower. Vista is prettier, but it's a hardware hog. Plus, it does a lot of hand holding I don't like. I can't imagine any machine that wouldn't be snappier with XP as compared to Vista. Of course if you want the Vista goodies then that is the way to go. I was prepared to live with Vista on my laptop but one of the major programs I wanted to use refused to work with Vista so I punted it and went to XP Pro. Not only did my program run again but my computer got a speed boost as well. And there was nothing that Vista offered that mattered to me at the time.

I picked up a laptop for a church and it had Vista on it and it did what it needed to do, so I can understand leaving well enough alone.... but I wonder if poor Shade would've been better off with an XP reinstall...

But it's too late for that now.

-Bball

Bball
01-05-2009, 01:41 PM
It's not muted. However, like I mentioned before, the external audio control is broken, so maybe it reset to 0 after the reformatting? I don't know where to find the external audio control within the system.

When you say "external audio control" are you just talking about the volume control buttons? Don't they just trigger the software volume control? IOW, if you turn the computer down via the buttons you'd see the software mixer control go down (if you have it called up in the first place)?

If we're on the same page then I don't think that could be your problem or you'd see it in the software.

Did you try the driver I found and see if it is the same as what you found? I'm pretty sure it's the right one...

-Bball

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 01:50 PM
It is all OK if you want your computer to run slower. Vista is prettier, but it's a hardware hog. Plus, it does a lot of hand holding I don't like. I can't imagine any machine that wouldn't be snappier with XP as compared to Vista. Of course if you want the Vista goodies then that is the way to go. I was prepared to live with Vista on my laptop but one of the major programs I wanted to use refused to work with Vista so I punted it and went to XP Pro. Not only did my program run again but my computer got a speed boost as well. And there was nothing that Vista offered that mattered to me at the time.

I picked up a laptop for a church and it had Vista on it and it did what it needed to do, so I can understand leaving well enough alone.... but I wonder if poor Shade would've been better off with an XP reinstall...

But it's too late for that now.

-Bball

Both of my PC's work just fine with Vista. No lagging, no slowing. UAC used to be annoying, but it doesn't bother me anymore.

Windows Media Center is awesome, expecially when I hook it up to my Xbox 360.

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 02:03 PM
Toshiba is a stickler. I got Shade's problem fixed and he has sound.

After installing audio drivers under Vista on a Toshiba Laptop, a lot of times the audio is muted by default. There is a fix for this issue, and it is located on Toshiba's website. I downloaded the file and sent it to Shade.

Shade
01-05-2009, 04:26 PM
Thanks for the help, dukarino!

It may be a new year, but Toshiba still sucks.

duke dynamite
01-05-2009, 04:32 PM
Thanks for the help, dukarino!

It may be a new year, but Toshiba still sucks.
Amen.

Shade
01-05-2009, 04:32 PM
And thanks to everyone else for the advice as well.

I couldn't have reinstalled XP if I wanted to, since I don't have the original disc. Like I said before, though, I like Vista so far.