PDA

View Full Version : Any local wanna make a tiny bit of $ before Christmas?

indygeezer
12-16-2008, 09:34 AM
OK....I need help, I'm really no techie and don't like having to deal with what I'm looking at anyway. I cannot afford much but if someone would come out and install my new printer/copier/fax I could pay a bit. (we'll talk and I'll be fair)

My problem? One phone line with a DSL splitter on it. One line goes to the DSL box and the other to the back of my computer...and sometimes the router. So how to connect in the fax? I need the line to do phone/dsl/fax.

I look at all the wires and go .........duuuuuuuuuuuh. I'm prolly making this way too hard but I neither have the time or the patience.

anyone?

duke dynamite
12-16-2008, 11:57 AM
OK....I need help, I'm really no techie and don't like having to deal with what I'm looking at anyway. I cannot afford much but if someone would come out and install my new printer/copier/fax I could pay a bit. (we'll talk and I'll be fair)

My problem? One phone line with a DSL splitter on it. One line goes to the DSL box and the other to the back of my computer...and sometimes the router. So how to connect in the fax? I need the line to do phone/dsl/fax.

I look at all the wires and go .........duuuuuuuuuuuh. I'm prolly making this way too hard but I neither have the time or the patience.

anyone?
I have a switch you could use.

indygeezer
12-16-2008, 12:14 PM
I have a switch you could use.

what would that do for me?

duke dynamite
12-16-2008, 11:47 PM
Basically, it turns one Ethernet connection into 5.

indygeezer
12-17-2008, 07:40 AM
OK, currently the dsl line from the wall has a two way splitter on it. One line goes to the dsl modem which then goes to my 'puter. The other line goes directly to the back of my computer. Is that necessary? Couldn't I disconnect the one that goes directly to the computer and run that to the copier/fax???

Or do I need this 5-way splitter?

travmil
12-17-2008, 08:02 AM