PDA

View Full Version : I need some advice from Dr. Love

Raskolnikov
11-28-2008, 12:34 PM
I'm a PhD student teaching exercises to students who are like 2 or 3 years younger than me. One of them kinda likes me I think and I kinda like her. Obviously I'm not gonna ask her out before the exam is finished and corrected. But, the problem is, it's not like I'm gonna see her again afterwards. So what do I do? I send her an email without knowing for sure that she likes me (I mean she could very well just be really into the course - I sometimes have problems with drawing the right conclusions from the signals women are apparently continually sending) or doesn't have a boyfriend? Any magical advice on how to handle this?

indygeezer
11-28-2008, 03:51 PM
TWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET !!!!!

Bellisimo !.......this one's for you.

travmil
11-28-2008, 05:10 PM
E-mail? Yuck. If you send an e-mail you might as well forget it. I know the times they are a changin' but an e-mail says to the girl "Sorry but I didn't have the stones to risk fact to face rejection, so I sent this instead."

My brother gave me some GREAT advice when I was in high school. He told me don't just say "Would you like to go out". You have to frame an experience for the gal. You say somthing like "Would you like to go get some Thai food with me?" Then you get her thinking about the date instead of the answer. If she's interested she'll say yes. If she's not or has a boyfriend, she'll tell you. No big deal.

BTW, if you'll most likely never see this girl again after the class what do you have to lose?

bellisimo
11-28-2008, 05:46 PM
here is a magical advice...don't think about all these weird road blocks like "what if she doesn't like me...what if she has a boyfriend...am i good enough for her...etc"

they are all personal negs that will hold you back and your confidence...so zip it :D

as for this situation...just take it easy...depends on how long the course is/etc.