PDA

View Full Version : Question for graphic artist types

Putnam
11-17-2008, 05:16 PM
OK. I'm an economist, and what trips my trigger is vast spreadsheets of data. But other people like information in a more condensed and colorful form, curse them.

Anyway, I'm feeling the need to get more adept at laying out a snappy-looking page of headlines, text, data tables, charts and photos. My memoranda and reports will have more impact if I pretty them up.

Does anybody have any suggestions for what I ought to be using? I learned PageMaker 2.0 on a Macintosh back in the late 80s, so I expect I'm pretty well up on the technology and software capabilities. Seriously, our office has one license for Adobe Illustrator (I'm not sure what version.) Should I be learning to use that, or something else? I don't have any immediate plans to make web pages -- only paper pages.

Thanks for any good advice.

JayRedd
11-17-2008, 06:59 PM
We are just switching over to InDesign at work and I actually just took a two-day class on last Thursday-Friday. While I've used the program before I haven't gotten to put the new stuff into practice, but it seems to be a very powerful piece of software and could be used for reports pretty effectively.

The ability to import Excel files directly as tables is the feature that seems like it would benefit you the most. If you have the info organized in Excel, you can place it right into the new document and then stylize it without too much difficulty. Headlines, text and photos are all easily managed as well -- although I reckon charts would still be best handled in Illustrator.

Additionally, InDesign has evolved from PageMaker and although I've never used that program, there are some similarities -- and InDesign is a sister program of Illustrator and PhotoShop so the general infrastructure will at least be somewhat familiar to you if you know those.