PDA

View Full Version : The cuts?

OTD
10-24-2008, 09:29 AM
Why was AC cut and keep someone lke Baston kept. Austin is a better player, and he also wants to stay in Indy. Since I am not a Philadelphia lawyer. Does a stupid guaranteed contract have something to do with this? If you cut a guaranteed contract do you still have to pay them? And is it still charged to the cap?

Putnam
10-24-2008, 09:50 AM
Why was AC cut and keep someone lke Baston kept?

Austin is a better player,

Would management agree?

Croshere got his chance, and he didn't persuade them. Baston's got more in the tank and he complements Foster and Murphy more that Croshere does. But neither of them figures to get much playing time, anyway.

If you cut a guaranteed contract do you still have to pay them?

Thus, the word "guaranteed."

This was the right decision.

RamBo_Lamar
10-24-2008, 09:59 AM
There is also the McRoberts factor to be considered. Certainly both his and
Baston's guaranteed contracts were factors.

That plus Austin had a couple poor outings further showing he is nearing the
end of his playing career.

As much as I like AC, I think it was clearly the right move. Would much
rather see the minutes given to developing McRoberts who could end up
having a long and productive career with the Pacers.

Roaming Gnome
10-24-2008, 09:59 AM
Why was AC cut and keep someone lke Baston kept. Austin is a better player, and he also wants to stay in Indy. Since I am not a Philadelphia lawyer. Does a stupid guaranteed contract have something to do with this? If you cut a guaranteed contract do you still have to pay them? And is it still charged to the cap?

Come on.... Really?

He is NOT a better player. Just because you get the biggest ovation from the fans, doesn't mean mngt is going to keep you around.

The Bottom Line:
Austin didn't make the team.

Anthem
10-24-2008, 10:04 AM
Why was AC cut
Same reason Damon Bailey was cut.

Roaming Gnome
10-24-2008, 10:09 AM
Same reason Damon Bailey was cut.