PDA

View Full Version : DSL Issues



Stryder
10-14-2008, 09:07 PM
Over the course of the last 2 weeks, my DSL connection has slowed to dialup or worse. I've done the typical speedtests and all seems to be fine (download speeds of ~ 300 - 400 kbps, which is fine). I did the high speed throughput test through AT&T/SBC's website and my download speed is 11.2 kbps and upload is 384.9 kbps.

Something is very wrong here. Most websites have slowed to a crawl. Downloads only transfer at dialup or worse speeds...

Anyone have any suggestions?

duke dynamite
10-14-2008, 09:12 PM
Call at&t...

kester99
10-14-2008, 09:34 PM
What Duke said.

Also, any new software installed during relevant time-frame?

duke dynamite
10-14-2008, 09:37 PM
I say calling at&t would be your best bet. Anytime I have a problem with my DSL connection they are always prompt and friendly to help me. You need to see if and where you could be losing packets. If this is the case maybe a new modem or router could be on the horizon...

OTD
10-14-2008, 09:44 PM
Call AT&T and when you get through all the computers, then you can talk to someone who does not speak very much English. Have fun

duke dynamite
10-14-2008, 09:45 PM
Call AT&T and when you get through all the computers, then you can talk to someone who does not speak very much English. Have fun
I've only had one "Jill" talk to me over the life of my services received from at&t. I've been quite happy.

heywoode
10-14-2008, 09:46 PM
When I lose connectivity or my speeds slow to a crawl, I shut everything down, wait about five minutes and then plug in the modem, wait for it to boot up, then plug in the router, wait for it to boot up, then turn on the PC's and log back in.

That usually resets everything and fixes the problem. I have only had to call AT&T once, and that was the first thing they told me to do. I had already done it, and they had to move beyond that to fix my problem (line noise).

I have AT&T DSL, a crappy Siemens DSL modem I bought at BestBuy after the one from AT&T got hit by lightning, a Linsksys router, and four PC's all running XP.

Hope that helps.

duke dynamite
10-14-2008, 09:49 PM
When I lose connectivity or my speeds slow to a crawl, I shut everything down, wait about five minutes and then plug in the modem, wait for it to boot up, then plug in the router, wait for it to boot up, then turn on the PC's and log back in.

That usually resets everything and fixes the problem. I have only had to call AT&T once, and that was the first thing they told me to do. I had already done it, and they had to move beyond that to fix my problem (line noise).

I have AT&T DSL, a crappy Siemens DSL modem I bought at BestBuy after the one from AT&T got hit by lightning, a Linsksys router, and four PC's all running XP.

Hope that helps.

And each one of those computers has at least 30 gigs of porn on them.

Shade
10-14-2008, 11:21 PM
Step 1: Get rid of DSL.
Step 2: Enjoy.

Knucklehead Warrior
10-17-2008, 12:27 PM
When I lose connectivity or my speeds slow to a crawl, I shut everything down, wait about five minutes and then plug in the modem, wait for it to boot up, then plug in the router, wait for it to boot up, then turn on the PC's and log back in.

That usually resets everything and fixes the problem. I have only had to call AT&T once, and that was the first thing they told me to do. I had already done it, and they had to move beyond that to fix my problem (line noise).

I have AT&T DSL, a crappy Siemens DSL modem I bought at BestBuy after the one from AT&T got hit by lightning, a Linsksys router, and four PC's all running XP.

Hope that helps.

This is good advice. Modem-router-computer in that order. Wait about 20-30 seconds between each one.
I would go 3 steps farther. Delete all your cookies and internet temp files and clear your History. I did this very reluctantly, but with zero adverse effects. Go to Tools-Internet Options....
Get an Ad-aware program and run it daily. You can download one for free that will do the job. Consider a new modem. They're about $35 at ATT store.
I hate ATT and DSL. My favorite "tech" was Trixie.

heywoode
10-17-2008, 01:56 PM
And each one of those computers has at least 30 gigs of porn on them.


Nope.

Just one big terrabyte mybook that has it all on it. Got an electron magnet sitting beside it in case the cops raid my house...

kester99
10-17-2008, 02:36 PM
....and run a good spyware remover and an antvirus. You never know anymore...PC, MAC, IE7 or Firefox...there's a bug out there for everyone.

Stryder
10-17-2008, 10:43 PM
Speeds came back to normal a couple of days ago...not sure what it was, but I think it happened to quite a few people around Greenwood, IN.

heywoode
10-17-2008, 11:37 PM
I don't know why so many people have problems with adware, spyware, and viruses. I have the router as a hardware firewall and I run ad-aware and Symantec Corporate anti-virus and I never get ANYTHING.

Don't want to jinx myself, but it has literally been years since I got anything malicious to deal with.

kester99
10-17-2008, 11:40 PM
'woode, I can tell you from my days on Cox Cable's phones that some people don't even know what the stuff is. And they get ate up.