Peck
10-11-2008, 05:12 PM
Ouch...

JayRedd
10-11-2008, 05:13 PM
Wow. This isn't gonna end well.

TMJ31
10-11-2008, 05:34 PM
Oh joy... he gets to return against... You guessed it, the Pacers!

ChicagoJ
10-11-2008, 05:34 PM
There is somethign to be said for the reasonableness of this. He's going to miss that amount of time anyway, and he got hurt because he was in violation of his player contract.

I wonder how the NBPA will attack this?

clownskull
10-11-2008, 05:44 PM
well, i am no lawyer but, i would guess there isn't a damn thing the nbpa can do about it.
contracts are pretty clear about what players can and can't do. and he clearly broke it. thus, they don't have to pay the dummy a dime for what he did. he should consider this a lesson learned- and a costly one at that too.

ChicagoJ
10-11-2008, 06:05 PM
contracts are pretty clear about what players can and can't do. and he clearly broke it.

That won't stop the NBPA's lawyers. It just means they will need to find a clever way to get creative with the language/ facts.

clownskull
10-11-2008, 06:11 PM
yeh, you are probably right in that they will try to do something. however, i just don't see them being able to do much about it. they are free to give it a go but, i see them losing this one- as well they should.

Hicks
10-11-2008, 06:22 PM
Wow.

ajbry
10-11-2008, 06:24 PM
He got lucky...

ChicagoJ
10-11-2008, 06:56 PM
I've read since that post that his agent was "in the know". The NBPA has a duty to protest all of these suspensions, but that doesn't mean they will try very hard if public opinion agrees with this move.

NuffSaid
10-11-2008, 07:06 PM
30-games is a long time, but since he'd probably be out rehabbing for that time period anyway, I guess it really doesn't matter. But wow!

Maybe Ellis should consult w/his teammate, Stephen Jackson. They can share notes on how to live through a 30+ game suspension w/o getting paid. :p

Kstat
10-11-2008, 07:09 PM
As you said, the amount of games is a non-issue.