PDA

View Full Version : NBA End of Season Awards



JayRedd
04-22-2008, 02:37 PM
Kevin Garnett Wins Kia Defensive Player of the Year

NBA.com
http://www.nba.com/news/sixthman_080421.html




2007-08 NBA DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR PRESENTED BY KIA MOTORS RESULTS

<TABLE cellSpacing=1 width=370><TBODY><TR style="FONT-WEIGHT: bold"><TD>
Player, Team

</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Pts</TD></TR><TR><TD>Kevin Garnett (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kevin_garnett/index.html), Boston</TD><TD>90</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>493</TD></TR><TR><TD>Marcus Camby (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/marcus_camby/index.html), Denver</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>178</TD></TR><TR><TD>Shane Battier (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/shane_battier/index.html), Boston</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>175</TD></TR><TR><TD>Bruce Bowen (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/bruce_bowen/index.html), San Antonio</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>80</TD></TR><TR><TD>Kobe Bryant (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kobe_bryant/index.html), L.A. Lakers</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>40</TD></TR><TR><TD>Josh Smith (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/josh_smith/index.html), Atlanta</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>34</TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris Paul (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/chris_paul/index.html), New Orleans</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>24</TD></TR><TR><TD>Dwight Howard (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/dwight_howard/index.html), Orlando</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>24</TD></TR><TR><TD>Tim Duncan (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/tim_duncan/index.html), San Antonio</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>22</TD></TR><TR><TD>Tayshaun Prince (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/tayshaun_prince/index.html), Detroit</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>13</TD></TR><TR><TD>Tyson Chandler (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/tyson_chandler/index.html), New Orleans</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>10</TD></TR><TR><TD>Rasheed Wallace (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/rasheed_wallace/index.html), Detroit</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>9</TD></TR><TR><TD>Richard Hamilton (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/richard_hamilton/index.html), Detroit</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD></TR><TR><TD>Samuel Dalembert (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/samuel_dalembert/index.html), Philadelphia</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1 </TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD></TR><TR><TD>Raja Bell (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/raja_bell/index.html), Phoenix</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-- </TD><TD>3</TD></TR><TR><TD>Rajon Rondo (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/rajon_rondo/index.html), Boston</TD><TD>-- </TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD></TR><TR><TD>Chauncey Billups (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/chauncey_billups/index.html), Detroit</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyle Lowry (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kyle_lowry/index.html), Memphis</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD></TR><TR><TD>Ron Artest (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/ron_artest/index.html), Sacramento</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD></TR><TR><TD>Andrei Kirilenko (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/andrei_kirilenko/index.html), Utah</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

ALL-TIME NBA DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR WINNERS

Season Winner, Team

1982-83 Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1983-84 Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1984-85 Mark Eaton, Utah
1985-86 Alvin Robertson, San Antonio
1986-87 Michael Cooper, L.A. Lakers
1987-88 Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988-89 Mark Eaton, Utah
1989-90 Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1990-91 Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1991-92 David Robinson, San Antonio
1992-93 Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1993-94 Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1994-95 Dikembe Mutombo, Denver
1995-96 Gary Payton, Seattle
1996-97 Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1997-98 Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1998-99 Alonzo Mourning, Miami
1999-00 Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2000-01 Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2002-03 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2003-04 Ron Artest, Indiana
2004-05 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2005-06 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2006-07 Marcus Camby, Denver
2007-08 Kevin Garnett, Boston

<!-- promo plug -->
<!-- end promo plug -->

JayRedd
04-22-2008, 02:38 PM
Ginobili named NBA's best sixth man for 2007-08 season

Associated Press

ESPN.com


http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=3356991

JayRedd
04-22-2008, 02:40 PM
Full voting is here:

Ginobili Wins 2007-08 Sixth Man of the Year Award Presented by Kia Motors
NBA.com

http://www.nba.com/news/sixthman_080421.html






2007-08 NBA SIXTH MAN AWARD PRESENTED BY KIA MOTORS VOTING
<TABLE cellSpacing=1 width=370><TBODY><TR style="FONT-WEIGHT: bold"><TD>Player, Team</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Pts</TD></TR><TR><TD>Manu Ginobili (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/emanuel_ginobili/index.html), San Antonio</TD><TD>123</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>615</TD></TR><TR><TD>Leandro Barbosa (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/leandro_barbosa/index.html), Phoenix</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>84</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>283</TD></TR><TR><TD>Jason Terry (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jason_terry/index.html), Dallas</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>44</TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyle Korver (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/kyle_korver/index.html), Utah</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>34</TD></TR><TR><TD>Ben Gordon (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/ben_gordon/index.html), Chicago</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>27</TD></TR><TR><TD>Josh Childress (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/josh_childress/index.html), Atlanta</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>23</TD></TR><TR><TD>J.R. Smith (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jr_smith/index.html), Denver</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>22</TD></TR><TR><TD>James Posey (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/james_posey/index.html), Boston</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>19</TD></TR><TR><TD>Jason Maxiell (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jason_maxiell/index.html), Detroit</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>11</TD></TR><TR><TD>Travis Outlaw (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/travis_outlaw/index.html), Portland</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>11</TD></TR><TR><TD>Linas Kleiza (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/linas_kleiza/index.html), Denver</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5</TD></TR><TR><TD>Jordan Farmar (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jordan_farmar/index.html), L.A. Lakers</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>5</TD></TR><TR><TD>Jerry Stackhouse (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jerry_stackhouse/index.html), Dallas</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>4</TD></TR><TR><TD>Rashad McCants (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/rashad_mccants/index.html), Minnesota</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1 </TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD></TR><TR><TD>Louis Williams (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/louis_williams/index.html), Philadelphia</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-- </TD><TD>3</TD></TR><TR><TD>Jarrett Jack (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/jarrett_jack/index.html), Portland</TD><TD>-- </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD></TR><TR><TD>David Lee (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/david_lee/index.html), New York</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3</TD></TR><TR><TD>Andres Nocioni (http://www.nba.com/playerfile/andres_nocioni/index.html), Chicago</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>--</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

ALL-TIME NBA SIXTH MAN AWARD PRESENTED BY KIA MOTORS WINNERS
1982-83 Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86 Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88 Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89 Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93 Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94 Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95 Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96 Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97 John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98 Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99 Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-00 Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01 Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02 Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03 Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04 Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls
2005-06 Mike Miller, Memphis Grizzlies
2006-07 Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns
2007-08 Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs

Speed
04-22-2008, 02:41 PM
He was a starter.

You caught me before delete, I was thinking it was the MIP award.

rexnom
04-22-2008, 02:47 PM
Both awards are well-deserved so far. I'd say KG and Manu this year are two of the most deserving defensive POY and 6th man of the year winners ever.

JayRedd
04-22-2008, 02:53 PM
Agreed.

And Rudy Gay is a lock for MIP. MVP and Coach are really the only debatable ones.

So...debate away...

Putnam
04-22-2008, 03:12 PM
It's nice to see Kyle Korver getting noticed. (4th place for 6th man.) People dogged him in Philly, but he's a nice spark in Utah.

It is a testament to what a new situation can mean for a player.



And let's not forget the Pacers' 6th man of the year:

pz9kfoLYKrI

Unclebuck
04-22-2008, 03:16 PM
Agreed.

And Rudy Gay is a lock for MIP. MVP and Coach are really the only debatable ones.

So...debate away...

I think Hedu will win MIP. Not Gay

LoneGranger33
04-22-2008, 04:34 PM
It's nice to see Kyle Korver getting noticed. (4th place for 6th man.) People dogged him in Philly, but he's a nice spark in Utah.

It is a testament to what a new situation can mean for a player.



And let's not forget the Pacers' 6th man of the year:

pz9kfoLYKrI

Foster was good.

Kaufman
04-22-2008, 04:40 PM
Who gave tyson chandler a 1st place vote for defensive player of the year?

Ownagedood
04-22-2008, 04:43 PM
I think Hedu will win MIP. Not Gay
Agreed. Would love to see one of our own getting an award.. But this is the best chance we have and we barely even have a chance at it..

AesopRockOn
04-22-2008, 05:20 PM
Award - Who I Think Should Win (Who Will Win)

ROY - Durant (Durant)
MIP - Gay (Hedo)
COTY - Mo Cheeks (Scott)
MVP - Kobe (Kobe)

No debate on ROY and nobody really cares about MIP, especially since it doesn't have the comeback story feel to it anymore.

COTY is really up in the air and Cheeks definitely isn't getting enough love for what he did with that team (they had the Blazers' second half the season for them). But finishing second in the West will get it to Byron.

The MVP is a two-man race. Any third whether it be KG, Lebron, D12 or Manu is way behind. And the simplest thing is to look at the record: it's Kobe. There are tons of arguments supporting that and tons supporting CP3 but I'm going with the simple.

maragin
04-22-2008, 05:48 PM
I think Hedu will win MIP. Not Gay

Headlines in the paper: Hedu wins MIP. Not Gay.

duke dynamite
04-22-2008, 05:53 PM
It's nice to see Kyle Korver getting noticed. (4th place for 6th man.) People dogged him in Philly, but he's a nice spark in Utah.

It is a testament to what a new situation can mean for a player.



And let's not forget the Pacers' 6th man of the year:

pz9kfoLYKrI
Gawd, I was there and remembered that. So funny.

Hicks
04-22-2008, 05:55 PM
Gawd, I was there and remembered that. So funny.

How did it feel to have Jeff Foster trip you?

AesopRockOn
04-28-2008, 11:17 PM
:bump:

http://sports.espn.go.com/nba/news/story?id=3372693