PDA

View Full Version : Ahhh Crap.... Windows Help Please



Anthem
05-30-2004, 02:39 AM
I went to install Windows today, only to discover that my Windows XP holographic CD is just a coaster... durned thing won't work. I need to install Windows on one of my machines, but now I'm not sure how.

I bought it online several years ago, so returning it isn't an option. The thing is, you're actually paying for the license, not the CD, so you'd think that it would be replacable. I have two valid license stickers, so that's not at issue.

What do you guys think? Can I take this to the store and replace it? I really don't feel like buying another copy of something I already own... Is it immoral to get a pirated copy of something I've already bought?

BayouPacer
05-30-2004, 03:49 AM
Actually, you can borrow a copy from your friend, and use your license number. That works.

And you couldn't bring it back to the stor,e but if you contact Mircosoft, they will send you a new copy.

Anthem
05-30-2004, 04:51 AM
Actually, you can borrow a copy from your friend, and use your license number. That works.

And you couldn't bring it back to the stor,e but if you contact Mircosoft, they will send you a new copy.

Ehh, all of my friends around here have copies linked to their computers... "Dell System Restore Disk" and so on. The ones that don't have name-brand PCs mostly got 'em from me.

How do I contact at Microsoft? Customer Support? Tech Support?

ABADays
05-30-2004, 08:25 AM
Caulk and duct tape always works.

Crusher
05-30-2004, 09:06 AM
YOu can buy a kit that polishes scratches off of cds at walmart

kerosene
05-30-2004, 12:08 PM
Actually, you can borrow a copy from your friend, and use your license number. That works.

And you couldn't bring it back to the stor,e but if you contact Mircosoft, they will send you a new copy.

Ehh, all of my friends around here have copies linked to their computers... "Dell System Restore Disk" and so on. The ones that don't have name-brand PCs mostly got 'em from me.

How do I contact at Microsoft? Customer Support? Tech Support?

That's the problem, you need a WinXP disk that matches yours. Even the Dell or HP cds require different serial numbers than a retail WinXP cd. All the newer cds will have SP1 on them anyway.

Now I have been able to install using a valid serial with a different disk but then you have to activate with Microsoft and that's gonna take a phone call to them most likely since the serail won't match the "batch" of cds your install came from. It's worth a go with this as you have a valid license and I don't know why they wouldn't give you a new "serial" over the phone to validate your new installation.