PDA

View Full Version : Your favorite antivirus?

Anthem
09-01-2007, 10:43 PM
So I haven't used Windows in a while, but I need to set up somebody's computer. What's the better antivirus? I'd especially love to hear from people who use both.

Hoop
09-01-2007, 11:16 PM
I've been messing with PC's for 15+ years and have tried just about every AV known to man. I now only use AVG Free along with ZoneAlarm free.

AVG is not a resource hog like Norton and McAfee has turned into. Doesn't completely take over by installing crap everywhere and it works just as good as any of the pay ones. It anyone tells you any different they don't know what there talking about.

Trader Joe
09-01-2007, 11:25 PM
IU has us use Norton and Spybot Search and Destroy in order to hook up to the network.

LG33
09-01-2007, 11:30 PM
I don't really pay for it, my college does, but McAfee seems to work fine.

pwee31
09-01-2007, 11:56 PM
A condom

Anthem
09-02-2007, 12:04 AM
I've always used AVG when on Windows, but recently I've been hearing a lot about Avast.

bellisimo
09-02-2007, 05:14 AM
ESET NOD 32

I think its better than Norton and McAfee...uses about 5mb of ram and updates the definitions on a daily basis.

and to clean up the malware/spyware I use Spyware terminator which does a pretty good job sorting it all out. :)

JayRedd
09-02-2007, 09:38 AM
I'm more of an antipasto guy.

Dab
09-02-2007, 12:01 PM
I use AVG free almost exclusively, but I've heard good things about Avast and Antivir (http://www.free-av.com/antivirus/allinonen.html) as well, which also have free editions.

I've always heard that NOD32 (http://www.eset.com/) is the best, but they don't offer a free edition. However, their pricing schedule is not out of line.

And I've actually been playing around with ClamWin (http://www.clamwin.com/), which is a port of the Linux AV app ClamAV. It's totally free, but I don't really like it, it's slow. But it is totally free.

pig norton
09-02-2007, 12:22 PM