PDA

View Full Version : WTH??!! Need PC help



Skaut_Ech
06-26-2007, 04:27 PM
I posted THIS:

I've got the Dlink DSL-2640B gateway router on my PC in the basement.

A second PC upstairs and an X-box (original, not 360) I'd like to hook up.

I find the product manual overwhelming »support.dlink.com/products/view.···%2D2640B (http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DSL%2D2640B)

*I've added the second PC, but the lease keeps expiring. How do I set up the second PC so that it won't keep shutting me out of access?

*More importantly, how do I get my X-Box access to the network? I know how to set up the X-box itself, but I was told I need to open certain ports on my PC? (UDP 88, UDP 3074 & TCP 3074?) I thought the modem handled this? I called DLink, but they didn't know what to do. http://i.dslr.net/v2/lite/eyesup.gif

I'm not overly savvy in setting stuff up like this, but I'm not a novice either. Anyone able to help walk me through this? http://i.dslr.net/v2/lite/confused.gif

Here:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/dlink

I'm getting more than a little frustrated. I don't get why I can't get things going. I've always been pretty good with computers, but I am lost here. I'll admit it. The D-Link manual is over my head. They tell you where to find stuff but not how to do it.

Anyone have any ideas on how I can get my second PC running wireless?

Any ideas on my X-Box?

If someone can just steer me a direction, maybe I can take it from there. I've actually comtemplated calling something like the Geek Squad, and that would be admitting utter defeat for the first time ever.

Help me, Obi-Wan Kenobi......:duel:

Fool
06-27-2007, 10:21 AM
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a267/lizsun/Blog/communication.jpg

Cobol Sam
06-27-2007, 11:22 AM
I posted THIS:

I've got the Dlink DSL-2640B gateway router on my PC in the basement.

A second PC upstairs and an X-box (original, not 360) I'd like to hook up.

I find the product manual overwhelming »support.dlink.com/products/view.···%2D2640B (http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DSL%2D2640B)

*I've added the second PC, but the lease keeps expiring. How do I set up the second PC so that it won't keep shutting me out of access?

*More importantly, how do I get my X-Box access to the network? I know how to set up the X-box itself, but I was told I need to open certain ports on my PC? (UDP 88, UDP 3074 & TCP 3074?) I thought the modem handled this? I called DLink, but they didn't know what to do. http://i.dslr.net/v2/lite/eyesup.gif

I'm not overly savvy in setting stuff up like this, but I'm not a novice either. Anyone able to help walk me through this? http://i.dslr.net/v2/lite/confused.gif

Here:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/dlink

I'm getting more than a little frustrated. I don't get why I can't get things going. I've always been pretty good with computers, but I am lost here. I'll admit it. The D-Link manual is over my head. They tell you where to find stuff but not how to do it.

Anyone have any ideas on how I can get my second PC running wireless?

Any ideas on my X-Box?

If someone can just steer me a direction, maybe I can take it from there. I've actually comtemplated calling something like the Geek Squad, and that would be admitting utter defeat for the first time ever.

Help me, Obi-Wan Kenobi......:duel:

To open those ports for the xbox you have to access the router itself. Try 192.168.1.1 and see if it will bring up a countrol panel for the router.

For that second PC, what exactly is the problem? Is it detecting the wireless network? Is it connecting and then being dropped frequently?

Did you setup any security measures for the network WEP or WPA-PSK something like that, or is it an open network.

I tried but I can't seem to open the link to the product manual.

Bball
06-27-2007, 01:38 PM
http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a267/lizsun/Blog/communication.jpg

How did you get Indygeezer's telcom network photographed without him knowing it? ;)

-Bball

Fool
06-28-2007, 12:23 PM
Easy.
http://www.smartcms.dk/cms_show/old_camera.jpg

Gyron
06-28-2007, 01:30 PM
Didn't the small explosive flash give you away?

Bball
06-28-2007, 05:14 PM
Didn't the small explosive flash give you away?

Not if Geezer wasn't wearing his glasses or had his hearing aid turned off. Plus, if he was napping he wouldn't have heard or seen a thing anyway.

I kid... I kid.... :D

-Bball

fooddaman
07-04-2007, 01:01 PM
I posted THIS:

I've got the Dlink DSL-2640B gateway router on my PC in the basement.

A second PC upstairs and an X-box (original, not 360) I'd like to hook up.

I find the product manual overwhelming »support.dlink.com/products/view.···%2D2640B (http://support.dlink.com/products/view.asp?productid=DSL%2D2640B)

*I've added the second PC, but the lease keeps expiring. How do I set up the second PC so that it won't keep shutting me out of access?

*More importantly, how do I get my X-Box access to the network? I know how to set up the X-box itself, but I was told I need to open certain ports on my PC? (UDP 88, UDP 3074 & TCP 3074?) I thought the modem handled this? I called DLink, but they didn't know what to do. http://i.dslr.net/v2/lite/eyesup.gif

I'm not overly savvy in setting stuff up like this, but I'm not a novice either. Anyone able to help walk me through this? http://i.dslr.net/v2/lite/confused.gif

Here:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/dlink

I'm getting more than a little frustrated. I don't get why I can't get things going. I've always been pretty good with computers, but I am lost here. I'll admit it. The D-Link manual is over my head. They tell you where to find stuff but not how to do it.

Anyone have any ideas on how I can get my second PC running wireless?

Any ideas on my X-Box?

If someone can just steer me a direction, maybe I can take it from there. I've actually comtemplated calling something like the Geek Squad, and that would be admitting utter defeat for the first time ever.

Help me, Obi-Wan Kenobi......:duel:


Skaut,

I didn't see anyone respond, so I'll take a stab.

If your 2nd pc upstairs keeps losing the lease, but the one that is connected downstairs, then you might have a problem with the PC upstairs and not with the D-Link router. How different is the 2nd PC from the one downstairs? Different OS, etc?

As far as getting the X-box on your network, there should be an administration web page that you connect to the router. I haven't used a D-Link (I have a Linksys) but you should be able to get n to the admin site for the router and setup any exceptions for allowing those ports.

Hope that helps.