PDA

View Full Version : My Opinion: David Stern Cost Greg Oden Millions

clemdogg
06-26-2006, 04:22 PM
As a recent area high school varsity basketball player (I graduated in 2004 from Beech Grove), I have realized that David Stern probably cost Greg Oden a lot of money. Obviously, had Stern not made his rule this past year barring high schoolers from entering the draft, Greg would be the surefire lock as the first pick in this year's draft, assuming that he would have decided to come out. But here is my worry: Oden will be ousted. Oden will be exposed. Oden will not be the number 1 pick in next year's draft. Allow me to explain...

What has Oden really proved? Oden has proved that he can dominate a game against high-schoolers. He has proved he can block and dunk on people who are a lot smaller than him. But who has really seen this kid consistently hit a jumpshot? Who has seen this kid hit a hook shot? Or an up-and-under? Or anything really besides a dunk? (He can shoot free throws for a big man, but I will get to that later). Granted, he hasn't had to do these things, but he will next year.

Don't get me wrong. Oden has a tremendous upside due to his size, athleticism, attitude, work ethic, and coachability. But I have yet to see anything from his play that suggests the comparisons he is receiving. I don't think he will dominate in any way next year for OSU. And this recent thing with his wrist definitely doesn't help. To me, Oden's mobility and range is limited. Its not like this is Kevin Garnett out there, hitting 3's and bringing the ball up the floor. This is a post guy who has yet to display any post moves besides dunks.

Now, having said all of that, the improvement Oden has shown on his free throws from his freshman to sophomore year reflect the work ethic and coachability of this young man. If those two qualities clash with some post moves before next year, then watch out Big Ten and NBA. But as of what I have seen now, I am not sold one bit on Oden.