PDA

View Full Version : Reuters}Jasikevicius laments league's business-oriented attitude

blow
02-15-2006, 03:56 PM
Have a good read. For the first time Sarunas is talking not of the lack of team play, but of all-business attitude in the NBA.

http://today.reuters.com/news/NewsArticle.aspx?type=sportsNews&storyID=uri:2006-02-15T010047Z_01_L10555854_RTRUKOC_0_US-NBA-JASIKEVICIUS.xml&pageNumber=0&summit=

Jasikevicius laments league's business-oriented attitude

By Steve Ginsburg

WASHINGTON (Reuters)

Sarunas Jasikevicius, who waited nearly a decade to join the NBA, says the league's emphasis on money is draining his enthusiasm.
"I was surprised the NBA is much more a business-oriented situation," the Indiana Pacers guard told Reuters.
"It's not so much pure basketball, like we play in Europe, like we played in college. Here, it's a business first of all.
"That's bad. It takes away a lot from the game, the love of the game. It's my first time like this," said the Lithuanian.
But Jasikevicius, a journeyman college performer at Maryland who became a top player in Europe, concedes the NBA is "something very special".
"The best players are here," he said. "You get to compete against the best players every night. The change of scenery all the time, traveling. It can be pretty exciting."
Few expected the 6-foot-4, 195-pound guard to make it to the NBA after a solid yet unspectacular college career in which he averaged 12 points as a senior at Maryland.
Even Jasikevicius believed he was not NBA material and went home in 1998 to play in Lithuania one year and Slovenia for another while honing his game to become more than simply a jump shooter.
Jasikevicius then joined Barcelona for three seasons, earning widespread praise while winning one Euroleague and two Spanish League titles.

GOOD ENOUGH
Maccabi captured his services for two seasons, a move that paid off for the Tel Aviv squad with two Euroleague championships.